• Join over 1.2 million students every month
  • Accelerate your learning by 29%
  • Unlimited access from just £6.99 per month

Theories Of Communication

Extracts from this document...


´╗┐Theories of communication Argyle?s communication cycle According to Argyle, skilled interpersonal interactions all involve a cycle in which you have to translate or ?decode? what other people are communicating and constantly adapting to your own. Argyle stated that you have to watch what you?re doing all the time, responding to everything by thinking them through first and then constantly repeating it till you have achieved your goal. Argyle linked this to interpersonal interaction because you have to concentrate what is being said, to understand it and then thinking how to respond to the person, and then reflecting back to them, showing you understood. This is then why Argyle created the communication cycle because he believed that we decode what other people are saying and that we are repeatedly processing our behaviour to communicate effectively back to them. Argyle?s stages of the communication cycle centre?s six concepts which are: 1. An idea occurs 2. ...read more.


Stage 1: Idea occurs ? The service user?s wants to write up a shopping list for their carer, so the carer knows exactly what to get. Stage 2: Message coded ? The service user decides what he/she wants on the shopping list. Stage 3: Message sent ? The service user has written out her/his shopping list and handed it over to their carer. Stage 4: Message received ? The carer has the shopping list and looks through it. Stage 5: Message decoded ? This particular stage isn?t needed in this situation but it would have been needed if the service user spoke a different language to the carer or had a hearing impediment. Stage 6: Message understood ? The carer understood the shopping list and everything that was on it. Tuckman?s Theory This theory was developed in the 1965?s and the last stage was added in the 1970?s. There are five stages which are, forming, storming, norming, storming, performing and adjourning. ...read more.


As the group move out the storming phase they will enter the norming phase. This tends to be a move towards harmonious working practices with the group agreeing on the rules and values which they will operate by. The group will begin to trust themselves and others during this phase as they will accept the vital contribution of each member. This is also when the team leader can taker a step back as individual members will take greater responsibility in achieving their goal. Not all groups manage to make it to the performing phase, which is essentially an era of high performance. Performing groups are identified by high levels of independence, motivation, knowledge and competence. Also decision making is collaborative and dissent is expected and encourages as there will be a high level of respect in the communication between team members. Adjourning, this is the final stage which was added later by Tuckman. This is when the task has been completed with a positive outcome. This is also the break up of the team with everything fulfilled and they all move on with a happy attitude with was has been achieved. ...read more.

The above preview is unformatted text

This student written piece of work is one of many that can be found in our AS and A Level Healthcare section.

Found what you're looking for?

  • Start learning 29% faster today
  • 150,000+ documents available
  • Just £6.99 a month

Not the one? Search for your essay title...
  • Join over 1.2 million students every month
  • Accelerate your learning by 29%
  • Unlimited access from just £6.99 per month
  • Over 160,000 pieces
    of student written work
  • Annotated by
    experienced teachers
  • Ideas and feedback to
    improve your own work