• Join over 1.2 million students every month
  • Accelerate your learning by 29%
  • Unlimited access from just £6.99 per month

Comment on the differences between the exposition and the recapitulation in Mozart's 41st Symphony

Extracts from this document...


The difference in material between the exposition and the recap Mozart's 41st symphony is written in sonata form which plays host to three main sections. These sections are the exposition, the development and the recapitulation. Whilst the development introduces new ideas, motifs etc, it is the exposition and recapitulation that bear the same musical integrity as one another. This being said however, when the previous musical ideas created in the exposition are reiterated in the recapitulation, they are not necessarily exactly the same. I will attempt to explore the extent to which the two sections differ from on another within this essay. Most noticeably in this recapitulation is the lack of full modulation to the dominant. Instead we stay generally in C throughout (apart from b.225 - 243). Phrases and motifs that were in the dominant previously stay within C. One of the reasons behind this is that staying with the tonic is the realisation for the listener that we have come to the end by returning to the home key. ...read more.


The use of syncopation at the end adds drive and vigour. The fact it ends on a major chord provides us with a way to modulate back to C (as G to C is a perfect cadence). The second subject is now presented again, but this time in the tonic. We have modulated back from the dominant which we were in previously. The first 5 bars are scored the same, however the addition of flutes and oboes are brought in to add to the quaver run in b.249. They are not doubling, but adding harmony. The flutes are now doubling the melody also, where before it was only the bassoons. In b.254, the addition of horns is quite prominent also, adding a new depth. This was previously impossible due to the harmonic limitation of the brass instruments, but as we are now in C, it is possible. From b.260, we are getting quite close to the coda. The addition of woodwind here one by one creates a much heaver and substantial texture to the piece. ...read more.


After finishing with a G major chord in b.307, in the same place in the exposition, we would be moving into the development. In the recapitulation though, we are taken straight to 5 bars involving only C major, and the manipulation of it (arpeggiating the notes). Due to the fact it is staying on one chord, it is increasing harmonic stability. Also, as it is scored for all instruments and marked forte, it provides a clear, loud and well stated ending to the Jupiter symphony. To conclude, the main differences between the exposition and the recapitulation are mostly scoring changes, whether this is to add a new harmonic texture, or to reinforce things that were previously there. He often adds more instruments to help add depth to the sound produced, as well as reinstated the harmony. There is not a lot of new material in the recapitulation, and where there is, it is mostly built around existing material. The idea of a recapitulation is to reinstate and build upon previous motifs and phrases. As explained, this is exactly what Mozart does to great effect and provides a well rounded finish to an impressive piece. ...read more.

The above preview is unformatted text

This student written piece of work is one of many that can be found in our AS and A Level Music section.

Found what you're looking for?

  • Start learning 29% faster today
  • 150,000+ documents available
  • Just £6.99 a month

Not the one? Search for your essay title...
  • Join over 1.2 million students every month
  • Accelerate your learning by 29%
  • Unlimited access from just £6.99 per month

See related essaysSee related essays

Related AS and A Level Music essays

  1. Mozart Symphony No. 41 in C, K551 "Jupiter" Analysis of Exposition

    The horns again play the triad, but this time starting on the dominant. From bar 31 it starts to change, as the piece begins to develop and move on. The violins begin to play a fragmentation of the consequent of motif A, using appoggiaturas and a sequence to disguise the

  2. Mozart Symphony No. 41 in C, K551 "Jupiter" Analysis of Development and Recapitulation

    is played continuously by the strings. At bar 172 the piece is now in A minor, as it begins to go through a series of harmonic changes, starting in B7 at bar 172, E major at the start of bar 173, going to E min and then E dim in

  1. Critical commentary on the exposition of Mozart's 41st Symphony.

    From b.9 all the woodwind instruments play crotchets and dotted quavers in an order. This section itself is fast paced and has a certain sense of vigour. The rhythms that the woodwind play add a sense of pace and drive.

  2. An investigation into the Mozart Effect.

    McFarland and Hanna (1990) found that music inhibited initial learning in a spatial task. Again showing that playing music while studying is more damaging than helpful on test performances. Research seems to show that music during studying inhibits learning. Is this true even if there is music present during testing?

  1. How does Jacques Loussier’s interpretation of Toccata and Fugue in D Minor differ from ...

    By analyzing different elements in the music, we can see where this difference lies. 1. Form and structure As the name suggests, Toccata and Fugue in D Minor is a piece combining both forms. Whilst the whole piece can be said to contain elements of both a toccata and a

  2. An account of the life and works of W.A. Mozart

    Not long after this, in March, he was summoned by his employer to Vienna. Here, Mozart fell out with the aristocracy, who did not care for his style, and most probably his character too; after all, Mozart was a man full of swagger and was not timid when it came to showing off his talents.

  1. Analysis of Mozart's Symphony No. 41 1st Movement

    Though this section, the piece seems to turn polyphonic in texture. There is a quaver line running beneath the first violins melody, but then the violin moves onto playing a new melody while the double bass and viola take over the previous violin line.

  2. Analysis of the Exposition of the First Movement of Beethoven's First Symphony

    The woodwind interject with melodic phrases as the strings emphasize a repeated plagal cadence from G-C-G. The second subject is now firmly set in the key of G major (the dominant of the main key, C). Beethoven immediately makes it clear that the second subject has begun by suddenly changing the dynamics (piano)

  • Over 160,000 pieces
    of student written work
  • Annotated by
    experienced teachers
  • Ideas and feedback to
    improve your own work