• Join over 1.2 million students every month
  • Accelerate your learning by 29%
  • Unlimited access from just £6.99 per month

Critical commentary on the exposition of Mozart's 41st Symphony.

Extracts from this document...


Mozart Symphony 41 The 41st symphony by Mozart is aptly named the Jupiter symphony by critics and music connoisseurs. This name quite deliberately sums up the sense of grandeur and majesty that the piece exudes. The symphony is scored for Flute, Oboe, Bassoon, Horns, Trumpets, Timpani (in C), Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Cello and Bass. Whilst the woodwind only play a small part in the piece, their role is key to accentuating the pace and vigour the first movement possess and the exquisite phrasing and melodic stability the third movement has. The first movement opens with all the instruments playing at once (tutti). Here the woodwinds help to add force and dynamics and change the overall texture that we hear as a listener. In b.3-4 the woodwinds fall silent to allow the strings to take over. This means that the overall brashness that we heard in the first 2 bars is sharply dropped and we are left with a more meagre and frail texture due to the lack of woodwind. ...read more.


The woodwinds are playing seventh chords where the bassoon is not playing the root (as it possibly should be) and the root of the chord is actually omitted, leaving the resulting as a diminished fifth. This provides a certain instability to the section whilst the lower strings are playing are playing a circle of fifths chord progressions using notes not normally found in this key (C major). IN b.35-36 there is a silence in the woodwind instruments, which is a prelude to an outburst in b.37. This lack of woodwind here provides an impact in the next bar when it is reintroduced. In this bar and the next, the oboe and flute play the same thing they were playing before whilst the bassoon plays a crotchet accompaniment outlining a major triad. At the end of b.38 however, the bassoon joins in playing the dotted crotchet melody the violins are playing adding imitation. The timbre of the bassoons is also interesting to make a note of, as they are playing quite high. ...read more.


This leads us to b.92 where it gets suddenly loud and the woodwinds play minims that contribute as reinforcement. In b.94, all the woodwind come in playing the same pattern as the lower strings and violins II. However, whilst this is going on there is an oboe still playing a tonic pedal note over the top of the melody. In b.100 there is a general pause that leads us swiftly into the next section. In b.101 there is no scoring for woodwind, however in b.103 the oboes rejoin again with a dominant inverted pedal. Up until b.111 the oboes are acting as an accompaniment to the other woodwinds that are playing the melody previously seen in the violins at the beginning of this section. Up until b.116 the woodwinds are generally only used as reinforcement for the melodies the strings are playing. In b.117 the offbeat crotchets the bassoon is playing tell us that we are coming to the end of this section as the syncopation has been used before to indicate the end of a phrase. The next section has modulated to a different key, which is Eb Major. ...read more.

The above preview is unformatted text

This student written piece of work is one of many that can be found in our AS and A Level Music section.

Found what you're looking for?

  • Start learning 29% faster today
  • 150,000+ documents available
  • Just £6.99 a month

Not the one? Search for your essay title...
  • Join over 1.2 million students every month
  • Accelerate your learning by 29%
  • Unlimited access from just £6.99 per month

See related essaysSee related essays

Related AS and A Level Music essays

  1. Marked by a teacher

    AS Composition Commentary. I chose to write my piece for a woodwind quartet, ...

    4 star(s)

    The oboe plays a countermelody in bar 2, which is then imitated by the clarinet in bar three. I chose to do this because throughout the theme and variation, a call and response structure between the clarinet, oboe and flute is created, which I liked.

  2. Mozart Symphony No. 41 in C, K551 "Jupiter" Analysis of Development and Recapitulation

    the last 2 beats, A at bar 174, D, D minor then D dim at bar 175 and then in G at bar 176. Bar 177 is in C, then C minor and finally in G at bar 179. While the piece goes through the key changes, the lower strings

  1. Mozart Symphony No. 41 in C, K551 "Jupiter" Analysis of Exposition

    progression of 5ths (from A7, to D7, G7 then C7), taking place every bar. Meanwhile the bassoons play 3 crotchets in a chromatic motion, helping for smoother development and linking. All the meanwhile this is still piano, when in bar 37 it suddenly becomes forte, contrasting with the previous section.

  2. Free essay

    Critical commentary on the fourth movement of Mahlers 4th symphony

    The interlude which precedes the third verse is also based on the sleigh bell theme and is very similar to the first interlude at first, however is greater in homophonic texture as there is an increased use of trumpets. The strong staccato quavers which have been heard fragmented throughout the

  1. Write a critical commentary on Mendelssohn's Quartet in Eb Major, Op. 12

    led Mendelssohn to widespread critical acclaim all by the young age of 20). Throughout this String Quartet, the influence of Beethoven on Mendelssohn's compositional style is evident. The adagio section bears great similarities with Beethoven's "Eb Harp Quartet Op.74". From the very first opening bar, beginning on the dominant seventh chord and resolving in the subdominant demonstrates such characteristics.

  2. Comment on the differences between the exposition and the recapitulation in Mozart's 41st Symphony

    This guarantees quite a distinguishable difference from the beginning of the recap (along with the fact is written with piano dynamics). This section borrows material from a couple of places in the transition, such as the descending quavers. It also however introduces a new idea in the oboes and bassoons,

  1. Analysis of Mozart's Symphony No. 41 1st Movement

    Texture- Texture was one of the more flexible elements of classical music. In general, it was basically homophonic, but was free to change to polyphonic when a composer saw fit. It is often extremely difficult to tell whether Mozart?s music is polyphonic, or just homophonic with very complex backings.

  2. Analysis of the Exposition of the First Movement of Beethoven's First Symphony

    and then it is used to lead into a staccato 5-note arpeggio-which includes the leading note- of the chord (C and then Dm). The motif is then played in staccato through the G7 inversions. It is important to note that here the notes are different relative to the chord changes;

  • Over 160,000 pieces
    of student written work
  • Annotated by
    experienced teachers
  • Ideas and feedback to
    improve your own work