• Join over 1.2 million students every month
  • Accelerate your learning by 29%
  • Unlimited access from just £6.99 per month

Discuss 3 contrasting passages within the 3rd movement of Mahler 4 which paint an image of Heaven.

Extracts from this document...


Discuss 3 contrasting passages within the 3rd movement of Mahler 4 which paint an image of Heaven. Mahler's 4th symphony creates an iconic view of the religious place of eternal life, with the entire symphony subtly leading towards the 4th movement (the 4th movement is a song; a child (soprano) presents a sunny, naive vision of Heaven and describes the feast being prepared for all the saints). One may gather from this that the idea of Heaven plays an important role in this symphony. Indeed, the idea depicted by Mahler of transcending mankind after death is a very prominent idea, particularly in the 3rd movement. From the opening, the third movement of Mahler's 4th symphony paints an image of great peace and tranquillity; the warmth and stability of the lower strings and the rich homophonic texture radiates an image of calm. ...read more.


displays many of the characteristics similar with those of section 1. Firstly, the idea of ethereal strings is once again demonstrated. Long sustained dominant pedal in the 1st violins, 2nd cellos and double basses creates a feeling of ease and peacefulness, whilst also creating the idea of movement (wanting to resolve). This movement may perhaps be the ascent up towards Heaven. Ultimately however, the feeling of being grounded does still remain, as the long sustained notes (D octave) limits the idea of movement. Over the top of this piano foundation, the horns play a melody marked forte, but also marked langsam. Langsam, meaning "to be played broadly in tempo", is used here to emphasise the dying away of the great disorder that occurred in the previous section, and again provide a solid foundation of peace. The violins also play a similar role to those in the first section by sustaining the very high, almost airy notes again. ...read more.


The strings are instructed to play at will, which creates the impression of a huge wash of colour as the contrasting notes from each player coincide. The wind and brass play a grand, startlingly loud chord over the top of the strings, adding to the texture and timbre. The harps conventional scoring here is effective in that arpeggios create an upwards shimmer of notes - ideal for again, the ascent towards heaven. Further adding to the effect of immense grandeur and royalty are the use of timpani. Combined with the almost fanfare like figures in the brass, the power and stringency show through and add too the idea of eternal glory. The section eventually gives way, and we hear the quietest part of the movement (the idea of eternal rest). The ending, which lets the bass drop out leaves the moment on a chord with a floating and ethereal quality. We now move back to G major, and the finishing, delicate chord creates the impression of never-ending peace; The final chord being a signal we have arrived in Heaven. ...read more.

The above preview is unformatted text

This student written piece of work is one of many that can be found in our AS and A Level Music section.

Found what you're looking for?

  • Start learning 29% faster today
  • 150,000+ documents available
  • Just £6.99 a month

Not the one? Search for your essay title...
  • Join over 1.2 million students every month
  • Accelerate your learning by 29%
  • Unlimited access from just £6.99 per month

See related essaysSee related essays

Related AS and A Level Music essays

  1. Free essay

    Critical commentary on the fourth movement of Mahlers 4th symphony

    The interlude which precedes the third verse is also based on the sleigh bell theme and is very similar to the first interlude at first, however is greater in homophonic texture as there is an increased use of trumpets. The strong staccato quavers which have been heard fragmented throughout the

  2. Comment on the ways in which Mahler organises his thematic material in the first ...

    The third significant theme is heard in the horn in bar 10; a triplet semi-quaver figure followed by repeated staccato quavers. The oboe and clarinets then take up this idea from bar 14. Mahler continues to fragment and combine his motifs to create varied textures and add interest to his

  1. Free essay

    Vaughan Williams scoring and innovative use of orchestral texture are the hallmarks of his ...

    At B1 the key again changes, this time to A Aeolian. At this point the woodwind doubles the strings, creating a very rich sound. During this section the pitch range of the orchestra extends which, partnered with the crescendo throughout the whole orchestra, creates a climactic feel to the section.

  2. The perfect partner.

    as in 'X-rated'! Now, I'll discuss the aesthetic wonders of the most pampered part of one's anatomy that is witnessed every day by the outside world - the face. Like the rest of her anatomical form, it should be slender with defined cheek bones.

  1. Schubert - Trout Quintet: 4th Movement - Andantino

    The same dotted notes are still obvious and the same chords are used. However there are many differences in Variation 1 to the theme too. The piano plays the main themes, and it was absent from playing before. The piano plays two octaves in the treble register.

  2. Learning to play the Dhol - Diary/Write Up

    In an attempt not to contradict ourselves we cannot give you a full history of the Dhol, merely because nobody actually knows the true background for this instrument and also because the Dhol is one of the oldest instruments. It is all very good saying that the Dhol was used

  1. It has been argued that Mendelsohn was a master-craftsman in the art of instrumentation, ...

    and he intertwines them immaculately. An example of this is the chord structure of the two subjects: they are both constructed from notes 1,2,3 and five of the scale but this does not mean to say they are too similar: the second subject is in D major and is a

  2. Analysis of Mozart's Symphony No. 41 1st Movement

    A coda of the exposition is supposed to stay in the same key as theme two- G major. For these reasons, it is reasonable to assume that the first dramatic change, bar 81, is the beginning of a new third theme.

  • Over 160,000 pieces
    of student written work
  • Annotated by
    experienced teachers
  • Ideas and feedback to
    improve your own work