• Join over 1.2 million students every month
  • Accelerate your learning by 29%
  • Unlimited access from just £6.99 per month

a detailed account of Jewish food laws and origins

Extracts from this document...

Introduction

Give a detailed account of Jewish food laws and origins These are the animals which you are permitted to eat ... anything which has a completely split hoof and chews the cud, this you may eat. (Leviticus 11:2-3) Jews are permitted to eat the flesh from some animals that are vegetarian. These animals chew the cud and have a split hoof, such as sheep. Jews are not at liberty to eat birds of prey, for example eagles: however domestic birds such as chicken, are permissible because they do not eat meat. Even though turkey does fall under this category, some Jews avoid eating it because it does not specifically say in the Torah whether it is allowed or not. A few insects are permitted however sages are not sure which particular species are allowed so eating insects is avoided. Fish is only allowed to be consumed if it has fins and scales e.g. cod. Rodents, reptiles and amphibians are prohibited. ...read more.

Middle

According to Judaism, moreover life is in the blood, and so Jews do not eat it. To get rid of the blood, Jews should rinse it off and then bathe the meat in cold water for at least half an hour. They then should pour on koshering salt and leave it on a draining board for one hour. Finally it should be bathed in cold water. This is a long process so nowadays kosher butchers tend to do this before selling the meat. The blood from the liver should be removed carefully as liver has high blood content. The liver should be cut open and salted before being roasted or grilled to remove any excess blood. When cooking, eggs should be broken into a glass separately to check if there is a blood spot. If there is a spot, then the egg should be thrown away. A glass is used because it is transparent and it does not absorb its contents. ...read more.

Conclusion

The agent that makes the milk curdle is produced from the walls of a calf's stomach and is called rennet. Technically, cheese is therefore a mixture of both milk and meat. That said, rennet is not regarded as "meat" because it is chemically altered whilst it being manufactured. However, the Talmud is particularly strict about the production of cheese so Jewish supervision is required. Unsupervised vegetarian cheese is therefore not kosher. Fruit and vegetables are washed to make sure that there are no insects in them. Lettuce is cleaned particularly carefully by washing each leaf separately or leaving it in a bowl of salt water for a period of time. Fruit should be sliced open and stoned Wine or grape juice may only be drunk if it is made and bottled under the supervision of a Jew. This is because wine is often used in many ceremonies in other religions e.g. Communion. Wine should not be touched by a non-Jew unless it has been certified as "boiled". This is a Rabbinical commandment, On Passover, Jews are forbidden to eat oats, wheat, barley, spelt and rye: the laws that apply at Passover are more stringent. ...read more.

The above preview is unformatted text

This student written piece of work is one of many that can be found in our GCSE Judaism section.

Found what you're looking for?

  • Start learning 29% faster today
  • 150,000+ documents available
  • Just £6.99 a month

Not the one? Search for your essay title...
  • Join over 1.2 million students every month
  • Accelerate your learning by 29%
  • Unlimited access from just £6.99 per month

See related essaysSee related essays

Related GCSE Judaism essays

  1. Pesach is the biggest of the three pilgrim festivals, along with Sukkot and Shavuot ...

    c) c) "Festivals are the best way to learn about your faith" I strongly agree with this comment. Especially for a young child, learning Jewish history and customs in a fun and enjoyable way will make them enjoy and be proud of being a Jew.

  2. Food Laws in the Jewish Tradition

    this is that god gave Jewish people the torah obligating them to fulfil its commandments entering them into a covenant with god. Kosher laws are a part of this covenant. Another reason why they follow these strict rules is because god called Jews the "Holy people" in the torah and therefore prescribes them a holy diet.

  1. Are The Jewish Food Laws Still Important?

    The Tapeworm infection used to be commonly caught from eating pork in hot countries (such as Israel). Tapeworm is very rare nowadays and we have a lot of things such as medication, refrigeration and clean, hygienic conditions which lessens the chances of catching food-borne diseases and therefore less restrictions and precautions need to be made.

  2. Being Jewish in Britain today

    Reform Jews do this because they think that the 613 mitzvot were given the their ancestors whom were wondering around in the wilderness with a large group of people and now that that have settle in a Britain, not wondering around in the wilderness without a home anymore, they do

  1. a) Pesach is the biggest of the three pilgrim festivals, along with Sukkot and ...

    An extra cup of wine is poured and at some point during the Seder meal the door is opened, this is to welcome Elijah in because he, according to the bible, is going to herald the arrival of the Messiah.

  2. Explain the history and the symbolism of the festival of Passover

    These have stamps on them for the Rabbinical authority and are specially made for the festival. On the night before the Passover, the house is searched by candlelight (usually by a child) for any remaining chametz. The mother will usually have hidden ten pieces (symbolic of the ten commandments and the ten plagues)

  1. Judaism and Pesach (Passover).

    The family of Israel therefore became slave labourers in Egypt. The Jews were treated very harshly and inhumanely and were subjected to hours of painstaking slavery. The story always begins with 'Long ago in the land of Egypt'; a Hebrew slave named Yocheved was expecting a child.

  2. Explain the significance of the food and Ritual objects used at the festival of ...

    Each of the five foods contained in the Seder dish have a symbolic meaning, however there are more foods other than the five in the dish that make the Passover meal what it is. A burnt egg and burnt bone are two of the parts of the Seder plate.

  • Over 160,000 pieces
    of student written work
  • Annotated by
    experienced teachers
  • Ideas and feedback to
    improve your own work