• Join over 1.2 million students every month
  • Accelerate your learning by 29%
  • Unlimited access from just £6.99 per month

Buddhism and Buddhist teachings.

Extracts from this document...


GCSE RE Coursework: Buddhist 2002 All Buddhist have an aim in life and that's to reach enlightenment and escape samsara (the cycle of death and rebirth.) To do this they have to follow certain rules and teachings, which affect their daily life in many ways, for example their diet, Buddhists aren't aloud to eat after midday. The numbers 3,3,4,4,5,8 and 10 may seem like a long list of numbers but in fact these numbers help me to remember the Buddhists teachings and beliefs... 3 stands for the three signs of life. Every Buddha wants to escape samsara the cycle of death and rebirth. To do this they must cope with the three signs of being, Dukkha, Annicca and Anatta. Dukkha means 'suffering' everyone has to suffer to succeed in something, it means more than just pain. Being uncomfortable or even bored. "Nothing in life is perfect and the Buddha said that no one can escape dukkha" meaning everyone has to suffer sometime in their lives, for example, losing a relative or close friend and no one can escape this happening to themselves or anyone else. ...read more.


Many Buddhists are inspired by this and are also willing to give up everything for their beliefs. The other 4 stands for the 4 noble truths stands. "All life is suffering, we suffer because we crave, to stop suffering we must stop craving and to stop craving we must follow the eight fold path" This quote here is a strong Buddhist belief its called the four Nobel truths. Number one " all life is suffering" this is Dukkha, the Buddhist said that every life has kamm (force) from they previous lives so everyone will suffer until they reach Nirvana. Number two " we suffer because we crave" to Buddhists this means selfishness another way in which people suffer, the Buddha even said that you should break out of the rebirth cycle as it is selfish not to and go to nirvana. Number three "to stop suffering we must stop craving" Once we have stopped suffering we reach Nirvana this is when a person can see beyond themselves, and have total freedom where no craves and no one suffers. ...read more.


Those are the 5 precepts followed by monks and nuns the extra five are rules that non religious people also follow; refrain from murdering, stealing, lying, misusing intoxicants i.e. alcohol/drugs and from misusing sex. Not always is it the case that Buddhists reach Nirvana and that's the end of it, some Buddhists called Bodhisattva choose to be reborn again and come back to help other monks gain good karma and reach the end of suffering. The sangha is a Buddhist community where monks and nuns go to gain good karma, to learn about the teachings, how to follow them and to live a more religious life. The sangha is not only for monks and nuns but for many people who just want a good education so they can get a job and some are force to attend by their parents. There are so many different beliefs and teachings to follow in Buddhism, its hard to understand just how the monks actually cope I know for a fact that a large percentage of people today wouldn't be able to cope, as Buddhism effects a people in nearly everything they do. ...read more.

The above preview is unformatted text

This student written piece of work is one of many that can be found in our GCSE Buddhism section.

Found what you're looking for?

  • Start learning 29% faster today
  • 150,000+ documents available
  • Just £6.99 a month

Not the one? Search for your essay title...
  • Join over 1.2 million students every month
  • Accelerate your learning by 29%
  • Unlimited access from just £6.99 per month

See related essaysSee related essays

Related GCSE Buddhism essays

  1. Describe Buddhist teaching about how people should treat the environment and animals.

    Buddhists meditate and think how they ca make world and its environment a better place. The Cambodian prayer shows how just one person can make a huge difference to the environment around them which rubs off onto the world. "Great suffering leads to compassion, Great compassion makes a peaceful heart,

  2. What are the main differences between Sikhism and Buddhism?

    and effect operates in both moral and physical dimensions of human life. Man is in bondage to this cycle of the results of good and evil actions. Life is suffering. ii) The perception that the cause of such suffering is craving or grasping for the wrong things, or for theright thing in the wrong way.

  1. Describe Buddhist teaching about how people should treat the environment and animals.

    In other words it can mean acting in the right way and not afflicting any harm on others. 'Right Action' - Buddhists follow five precepts they are a bit like guidelines for life. Right action is concerned with acting in the right way towards others and the environment.

  2. Review of Adorno and Horkheimer's The dialectic of enlightenment

    Enlightenment behaves toward things as a dictator toward men. He knows them in so far as he can manipulate them' ['Dialectic of Enlightenment', M. Horkheimer & T. Adorno. Trans. By John Cumming 1972 p.9] Adorno and Horkheimer believe that the modern subject is the victim of oppression and domination, i.e.

  1. Analysis the Sutra on the Eight Realizations of the Great Beings.

    Therefore, as long as people practice diligently, their bodies and minds can be liberated from the imprisonment of death and birth, the five skandhas , and the three worlds. In other words, people will live in peaceful a bright world when they achieve enlightenment.

  2. Describe Buddhist teachings about how people should treat the environment and animals

    The eight steps are: Right View, Right Intention, Right Speech, Right Action, Right Livelihood, Right Effort, Right Mindfulness and Right Concentration. Right Intention is deciding whether to act upon the Dharma and for the right reasons. You must not do things merely for yourself, bit also for the good of others.

  1. Describe a journey to a Buddhist place of Pilgrimage.

    This is honoured at the annual festival with a parade of ceremonial elephants. Not all of these treasured relics are of the Buddha; some could be from an old scripture or of a great Buddhist teacher. But this doesn't matter because the most important thing is that the artefacts are

  2. Free essay

    Are the five precepts realistic principles for a Buddhist to live by today?

    I would think that Precept 3 would be slightly harder to follow and less realistic because of what everyone else is doing at this moment. In the U.K and in most other countries se outside marriage is a very common thing and this might draw you in.

  • Over 160,000 pieces
    of student written work
  • Annotated by
    experienced teachers
  • Ideas and feedback to
    improve your own work