• Join over 1.2 million students every month
  • Accelerate your learning by 29%
  • Unlimited access from just £6.99 per month

Buddhism and Buddhist teachings.

Extracts from this document...


GCSE RE Coursework: Buddhist 2002 Siddatha Gotama also known as the Buddha, is the person that all Buddhists look up to, they follow his teachings and try to achieve enlightenment just like he did. On Siddathas travels he came across a sick man, a dead man, a poor man and a holy man these are called the four sights. Siddatha was very disturbed by the sights and decided to give up everything, his family his house and his money just to find the answer to these problems. After six years spent with teachers and monks Siddatha gained enlightenment. Many Buddhists are inspired by this and are also willing to give up everything for their beliefs. All Buddhist have an aim in life and that's to reach enlightenment and escape samsara (the cycle of death and rebirth) To do this they have to follow certain rules and teachings which affect their daily life in many ways, for example their diet, Buddhists aren't aloud to eat after midday. In order to reach enlightenment and go to Nirvana Buddhist's have to follow the eight fold path, a list of eight teachings, here are a few as followed: "Right speech, a Buddhist will avoid lying, gossiping and swearing. ...read more.


Buddhists have to live a basic life as possible. Their most precious belief are the three jewels: "I take refuge in the Buddha." This quotation means they respect the Buddha because he showed them the way to enlightenment. "I take refuge in the Dharma." This means that Buddhist's believe that the teachings need to be realised in your own life, this is why people respect Dhamma. "I take refuge in the saugha" When Buddhist's say they 'take refuge' this means a safe place. Buddhists believe that the 'Buddha's teachings are extremely important but don't believe that he invented them himself. Every Buddha wants to escape samsara the cycle of death and rebirth, to do this they must cope with the three signs of being, Dukkha, Annicca and Anatta. Dukkha means 'suffering' everyone has to suffer to succeed in something, it means more than just pain, being uncomfortable or even bored. "Nothing in life is perfect and the Buddha said that no one can escape dukkha" meaning everyone has to suffer sometime in their lives, for example, losing a relative or close friend and no one can escape this happening to themselves or anyone else. ...read more.


This quote here is a strong Buddhist belief it's called the four Nobel truths. Number one " all life is suffering." This is Dukkha, the Buddhist said that every life has kamm (force) from their previous lives so everyone will suffer until they reach Nirvana. Number two " we suffer because we crave." To Buddhists this means selfishness, another way in which people suffer, the Buddha even said that you should break out of the rebirth cycle, as it is selfish not to and go to nirvana. Number three "to stop suffering we must stop craving." Once we have stopped suffering we reach Nirvana this is when a person can see beyond themselves, and have total freedom, where no craves and no one suffers. Number four "to stop craving we should follow the eight fold path." The noble eight fold path also known as the riddle, is the living way to Nirvana, a way of showing people how they should live There are so many different beliefs and teachings to follow in Buddhism, it's hard to understand just how the monks actually cope. I know for a fact that a large percentage of people today, wouldn't be able to cope because Buddhism effects people in nearly everything they do. ...read more.

The above preview is unformatted text

This student written piece of work is one of many that can be found in our GCSE Buddhism section.

Found what you're looking for?

  • Start learning 29% faster today
  • 150,000+ documents available
  • Just £6.99 a month

Not the one? Search for your essay title...
  • Join over 1.2 million students every month
  • Accelerate your learning by 29%
  • Unlimited access from just £6.99 per month

See related essaysSee related essays

Related GCSE Buddhism essays

  1. Review of Adorno and Horkheimer's The dialectic of enlightenment

    ['Dialectic of Enlightenment', M. Horkheimer & T. Adorno. Trans. By John Cumming 1972 p. 16] This 'fear' leads to 'domination', domination of man over man and domination of man over nature. 'Myth turns into enlightenment and nature into mere objectivity. Men pay for the increase of their power with alienation from that over which they exercise their power.

  2. Describe Buddhist teaching about how people should treat the environment and animals.

    A peaceful heart makes a peaceful person, A peaceful person makes a peaceful family, A peaceful family makes a peaceful community, A peaceful community makes a peaceful nation, A peaceful nation makes a peaceful world." Different Buddhists traditions follow Buddhist teachings in different ways.

  1. Buddhist Monks and Nuns.

    But even before this happens or even if it doesn't, the meditating monk can still benefit others. In some modern places it is 'The Lifestyle of the Rich and Famous', with its extravagance, its when people spend a lot of money so that other people notice and like them for

  2. Select and explain the religious rituals which might be performed when a Buddhist visits ...

    During the Theravada festival of Wesak, many large processions are held and streets are decorated with lights and lanterns. These sort of celebrations cannot happen in Britain. This could affect the life of a Buddhist but exceptions must be made and although it may be on a small scale an

  1. What are the main differences between Sikhism and Buddhism?

    and effect operates in both moral and physical dimensions of human life. Man is in bondage to this cycle of the results of good and evil actions. Life is suffering. ii) The perception that the cause of such suffering is craving or grasping for the wrong things, or for theright thing in the wrong way.

  2. Analysis the Sutra on the Eight Realizations of the Great Beings.

    On the other hand, the four kinds of Mara include unwholesome mental factors, five skandhas, death, and distractions. The five skandhas is life suffering; the three worlds is like burning house. Thus, the world and the people's bodies are similar to jails where we can't rely on at all.

  1. Describe a journey to a Buddhist place of Pilgrimage.

    Buddhists who visit the pagoda place a gold leaf on the beautiful roof to honour the memory of the Buddha. There is also another famous relic which is in a minute stupa in the temple named the "tooth relic temple" in Kandy, Sri Lanka.

  2. Buddhism and Buddhist teachings.

    "I take refuge in the Dharma" this means that Buddhist's believe that the teachings need to be realised in your own life, this is why people respect Dhamma. "I take refuge in the saugha" When Buddhist's say they 'take refuge' this means a safe place.

  • Over 160,000 pieces
    of student written work
  • Annotated by
    experienced teachers
  • Ideas and feedback to
    improve your own work