• Join over 1.2 million students every month
  • Accelerate your learning by 29%
  • Unlimited access from just £6.99 per month

Holy Communion.

Extracts from this document...


Holy Communion Coursework The Christian scholar St. Augustine defined a sacrament as: 'the invisible form of an invisible grace'. This means that very sacrament has two parts - a physical and a Spiritual part. The physical (visible) aspect is something that can be seen, touched, tasted etc. and the Spiritual (invisible) part is the non-physical element, a grace or gift from God. Sacraments are a form of worship as they celebrate and remember important aspects of the Christian faith. Each sacrament has its own importance. There are many different beliefs and views of sacraments. This is because different denominations believe that different activities are true sacraments and are considered to just be an important part of being a Christian. The Roman Catholic and Orthodox Church denominations believe and practice in seven sacraments. These are the Eucharist, Baptism, Confirmation, Marriage, Penance, Ordination and the Anointing of the sick. The Church of England, otherwise known as the Anglican Church, follows only two of these sacraments, Baptism and Holy Communion. They do however believe that the other five sacraments are important but do not see them significant to be a sacrament. The Free Church and other Protestant Churches believe in no sacraments whatsoever. They have only communion and marriage and see them both simply as a symbol or reminder. ...read more.


Jesus said according to the Gospel of Matthew in the New Testament: 'And as they were eating Jesus took the bread, and blessed it, and broke it, and gave it to the disciples, and said, Take eat; this is my body. And he took the cup, and gave thanks, and gave it to them saying, Drink ye all of it. For this is my blood of the New Testament which is shed for many, for the remission of sins.' (Matthew 26:26-8) Most Christians would say Jesus gave this command on this occasion to ensure that Christians would break bread and drink wine in his memory as long as the Church endured. The Roman Catholic and Orthodox churches believe that the bread and wine changes at the point of consecration to physically become the body and blood of Christ. It is also a spiritual change of the bread and wine's inner nature. This is called Transubstantiation. The idea of transubstantiation came about in 1551 with the Council of Trent. It was a belief shared by the Roman Catholic Church who at this time had just been through the Reformation only decades previously. In more recent times, Roman Catholic theologians have reworked the idea of transubstantiation. One of who is Edward Schillebeeckx. ...read more.


This sign represents unity. Then Holy Communion will then be offered to the congregation. In a Roman Catholic Church at Mass, you would stand at the Altar and receive a small wafer to the mouth or the hand and take a small sip of wine from a chalice. In an Orthodox church at Holy Liturgy, you would kneel at the altar and receive a small portion of bread on a spoon and take a small sip of wine from a chalice. In a Church of England at Holy Communion, the communicant would kneel at the Altar rail and receive a small piece of bread or wafer into the hand and take a small sip of wine from a chalice. In a Free Church it is slightly different to the above church practices. The congregation remains seated in their pews and a tray is passed around with bread on where the communicant takes a piece. Then a tray is passed around with miniature glasses of wine to be taken. After the sharing of the bread and wine, there is a small time or act of dismissal which may include prayers, a hymn or a blessing. Many Protestant churches have the Eucharist only once or twice a month. In Roman Catholic churches, Mass takes place daily. When Roman Catholic Christians attend Mass they follow a sequence which represents a path they believe they must follow in their lives and in their relationships to God. ...read more.

The above preview is unformatted text

This student written piece of work is one of many that can be found in our GCSE Places of Worship section.

Found what you're looking for?

  • Start learning 29% faster today
  • 150,000+ documents available
  • Just £6.99 a month

Not the one? Search for your essay title...
  • Join over 1.2 million students every month
  • Accelerate your learning by 29%
  • Unlimited access from just £6.99 per month

See related essaysSee related essays

Related GCSE Places of Worship essays

  1. A) How and why do Christians celebrate the Eucharist? b) ...

    Therefore, rituals and ceremonies are considered to be a worthwhile way of reminding people about important Christian beliefs. Many ceremonies are performed at special times of the year, for example, at Easter and Christmas. These have become traditional holiday times, even for non-believers and Christians who do not worship often.

  2. The sacrament of Holy Communion forms part of worship for most Christians - Explain ...

    The language use however has confused Christians. Some believe it actually becomes the body and blood of Christ, while some believe that it becomes the body and blood of Christ spiritually.


    this also has steps leading up to it which it doesn't in other churches, a communion table also known as the alter where consecration takes place, pews which are separated into three columns by two aisles just like the Baptist church forming an aircraft formation, cloakrooms at the back to

  2. Examine and comment on the attitudes of Roman Catholic and Anglican churches to Homosexuality.

    the largest of the groups to hold opinions on homosexuality being forms of religious groups, in particular the Roman Catholic and Anglican churches. Within the worldwide Anglican Church there is currently a lot of confusion over whether or not the acceptance of homosexuality can be tolerated or whether it simply goes too far against the laws of God.

  1. Knowledge and Understanding of belief and practise The Sacrament of Holy Communion Forms Part ...

    In this new covenant people are freed from slavery to sin and are given the promise of eternal life. The celebration meal of the new covenant is the Eucharist, at which Christians eat bread and drink wine as Jesus did at the Last Supper.

  2. Describe and explain the way in which Christians celebrate Holy Communion'

    Roman Catholics come together as a community, in the presence of God, before turning away from their sins, to put them in the right frame of mind in order to be able to worship God. This is called Penitential Rite.

  1. A study of the attitudes of the Roman Catholic, Methodist and Anglican churches to ...

    The acceptance of gays at St. Francis is total, says its pastor, The Rev. David Wilkinson. This also means acceptance is mutual. St Francis has acquired a large gay and lesbian membership. Local churches in the other denominations are reportedly considering going through similar processes.

  2. Why did monasticism play such an important part in the expansion of the Irish ...

    the 'proto-parochial' argument: two of the areas that Cambridge and Rollason cite as showing uneven distribution (County Durham and Yorkshire) are in fact cited by Blair to support the totally opposite point of view, that there was a logical pattern of monasteries to facilitate pastoral work.

  • Over 160,000 pieces
    of student written work
  • Annotated by
    experienced teachers
  • Ideas and feedback to
    improve your own work