• Join over 1.2 million students every month
  • Accelerate your learning by 29%
  • Unlimited access from just £6.99 per month

The sacred book of Buddhism is called the Tipitaka.

Extracts from this document...


The sacred book of Buddhism is called the Tipitaka. It is written in an ancient Indian language called Pali, the religious language Theravada which is very close to the language that the Buddha spoke himself, having a simpler structure than the Sanskrit of the Hindu texts. The Tipitaka is a very large book. The English translation of it takes up nearly forty volumes. The word Tipitaka is made up of two words, ti means 'three' and pitaka means 'baskets'. The first part of the name refers to the fact that the Buddhist scriptures consist of three baskets. The first basket, called the Sutta Pitaka, contains all the Buddha's discourses as well as some by his enlightened disciples. The type of material in the Sutta Pitaka is very diverse which allows it to communicate the truths that the Buddha taught to all different types of people. Many of the Buddha's discourses are in the style of sermons while others are in the style of dialogues. Other parts like the Dhammapada present the Buddha's teachings through poetry. The Dhammapada is one of the smallest works in the first sections of the Tipitaka. The name could be translated as 'The Way of Truth' or 'Verses of Truth'. It has of 423 verses, some pithy, some profound, some containing appealing similes, all spoken by the Buddha. Dhammapada is the most popular piece of Buddhist literature. ...read more.


The lions symbolize the Buddha's first teaching -the Four Noble Truths. Until the 12th century, Sarnath continued to be a major site for Buddhist pilgrimages. Many great masters, members of royal families, and devoted men and women came to this area to worship and pay their respects, benefiting from their efforts. 4. Bamboo Vihara Where the Buddha often resided; it was called Kalantaka or Kalanta veluvana. According to Hiouen-Thsang's account, Kalanta was a rich merchant, who had at first given his garden to the Brahmans, but after hearing the sublime Law regretted his gift, and took it away from them. He caused a massive house to be built there, and offered it to the Buddha. It was there that the Buddha converted several of his most distinguished disciples - Sariputra, Moggallana and katyayana; it was also at this house that the first Council was held after his death. 5. Vultures' Peak Mountain (Gridharakuta Parvata) Rajgir, Vulture's Peak Mountain, where Buddha turned the second Wheel of Dharma, bringing forth the Prajnaparamita teachings. The Buddha found pleasure in wandering about this mountain, so rich in grand and beautiful scenery shade by magnificent trees, and fresh with sparkling springs. It was there that, surrounded by his disciples, he taught the Lotus of the good Law, the Mahapradjna-Paramita Sutra, and many other Sutras. 7. Bodh-gaya One of the four sacred Buddhists sites, ninety kilometers (55 miles) ...read more.


All of these are believed to have happened on the same day of the year. Temples are decorated, lanterns are made, and the Bodhi tree is often decorated with oil lamps. People also send Wesak cards to each other. The Burmese believe that this is the day all Buddha's attain enlightenment. In Japan, birth, enlightenment and death are all celebrated on three separate days. Asala: Asala is usually in July and it marks the preaching of the Buddha's first sermon in the deer-park, "The Turning of the Wheel Law." It also the beginning of the 'rains' retreat. It's when monks preach sermons recalling the first preaching. Buddhism is the only religion that does not believe in a God. It started in India about 2500 years ago. A man named Siddartha Gautama lived in a palace and had all the things he wanted. A wise man predicted that he will be a grate ruler either a religious leader or a king. He got married. One day some girls who had been provided for Siddartha began telling him things about the outside world. Siddartha wanted to go out because he hadn't ever gone outside the palace. His father tried his best to clean up the streets. But when Siddartha did go out for the first time he saw a holy man, a ill man and a old man. After seeing this he wanted to know the true meaning of life and became religious and left the palace to seek answers. He sat under a Bodhi tree when he was enlightened. ...read more.

The above preview is unformatted text

This student written piece of work is one of many that can be found in our GCSE Buddhism section.

Found what you're looking for?

  • Start learning 29% faster today
  • 150,000+ documents available
  • Just £6.99 a month

Not the one? Search for your essay title...
  • Join over 1.2 million students every month
  • Accelerate your learning by 29%
  • Unlimited access from just £6.99 per month

See related essaysSee related essays

Related GCSE Buddhism essays

  1. What are the main differences between Sikhism and Buddhism?

    The world is seen as a state of constant fluctuation - a state of impermanence- Anicca- For Buddhists everything in the concept and idea of reality is anicca. The two branches of Buddhism are: Theravada (Teaching of the Elders also known as Hinayana -Lesser vehicle)

  2. Buddhist Worship - Temples and Symbols

    A Buddhist shrine comprises: * Statues of Buddha * Flowers * Incense sticks * Pictures of saints * Prayer wheel.

  1. Explain how the Sermon at Sarnath contains the key teaching of Buddhism.

    The truth shows that the outside environment inherently is unstable, as well as our "self" through the concept of samsara. Nothing in the phenomenal universe is stable thus the problem lies we desire the security of permanence and thus without it we feel deprived of inner nourishment resulting in dukka.

  2. give account of the social and religious conditions in northern India at the time ...

    He rejected the cast system because he believed everyone was born equal and it was unjust if someone was born in the Shurdas then they will not have equal opportunities, this is one of the religious ideas the Buddha rejected.

  1. Buddhists are interested in the truth about the way things are. The law ...

    In order to write a Christian equivalent of the stated Buddhist quote, I focused on the light of Christ, worship and good works or deeds. Christians celebrate their faith with the singing of hymns, reading Bible scriptures and spending time in prayer and reflection.

  2. Overview of Buddhism.

    concentration on wholesome thoughts and actions. The Buddhist method of choice to develop right concentration is through the practice of meditation. The meditating mind focuses on a selected object. It first directs itself onto it, then sustains concentration, and finally intensifies concentration step by step. Through this practice it becomes natural to apply elevated levels concentration also in everyday situations.

  1. There are many cases for the fact that the Buddha was a Shramana because ...

    Also the fact that rebirths are determined by fate and not karma was an issue for him. The caste system of the Vedic Hindus was something the Buddha disagreed with; he felt that your behaviour was more likely to affect your Karma rather than the caste system.

  2. The Buddhapadipa Temple

    All five later became enlightened too and are referred to as the Arhants or saints. When did Buddhism come to Thailand? The first person that introduced Buddhism to Thailand was Emperor Asoka. Asoka helped the elderly monk named Moggallitissa to choose some monks to visit neighbouring countries and introduce Buddhism there.

  • Over 160,000 pieces
    of student written work
  • Annotated by
    experienced teachers
  • Ideas and feedback to
    improve your own work