Authors Avatar


There are 8 live stages in total; these are the stages a person goes through during the course of their life. These stages are conception, pregnancy, birth and infancy, childhood, adolescence, adulthood, older adulthood and the final stages of life.

Conception and Pregnancy

Conception is when a live sperm penetrates a newly released mature egg successfully and the cells begin to multiply. The sperm meets the egg during sexual intercourse when thousands of sperm are released into the woman’s vagina. It only takes one of these sperm to penetrate the egg, but even if intercourse takes place at the correct time in a perfectly healthy couple there is only a 30% chance of the woman becoming pregnant.

Once the egg is fertilized it continues its journey to the womb, which usually takes a couple of days. When it gets there it embeds itself into the lining of the womb.

The two cells, the egg and sperm, a known as  cells, when they fuse together they are called a zygote and are now a single  cell. The word Zygote comes from the Greek word “zugōtos” which simply means joined.

The zygote is now dividing rapidly into a hollow ball of unspecialized stem cells; this is now known as an embryo. The embryo continues to grow and develop rapidly, it starts to look more like a baby and grows organs and features at different stages of development; it is now known as a feotus.

Growth is the process of single organism changing due to an unfolding of events biologically, for example an infant growing taller.

Development is another form of growth but is usually seen in stages, like the development of PIES which goes up in stages of what a child is expected to be able compared to age.


A lot of physical, intellectual, emotional and social development takes place during the first 18 months of life, this is know as infancy development.

The average weight of a newborn which is full term is approximately 7 ½ lbs, and the average body length is 14-20 inches.

When a baby is born it carries with them several reflexes with are already natural to them. A reflex is an involuntary action or movement. Some of these occur as part of the baby’s usual activity, and others are responses to certain actions, such as a loud noise. Reflexes held identify normal brain and nerve activity and this means they only occur during certain stages of development. The are 7 known relaxes a baby is born with, theses are the root reflex, this reflex occurs when the corner of a babies mouth is touched, the feeling of this causes the baby to turn the head to follow where the touching is coming from, this helpful when the baby is trying to fin a bottle or mothers breast during breast feeding. The second reflex is the sucking reflex, this a follow on from the root reflex, when the baby senses the root reflex the sucking reflex also come is the play and the baby will start sucking even if the bottle/breast isn’t there. The third reflex is the Moro reflex, or the startle reflex, this reflex occurs when the baby is startled by loud noises or movement, the baby throws their head back and extends their arms and legs then cries. Tonic neck reflex occurs when a babies head is turned in one direction the arm on that side stretches out and the opposite arm bends at the elbow. The grasp reflex occurs when the babies hand is stroked the babies hand closes.

Join now!



Infancy is the developmental stage form the ages of 0 to 3 years, and is a stage where rapid growth occurs.

As children grow up they go through stages known as developmental milestones. Developmental milestones are a set of skills which are age specific, as a child grows they learn new skills, these skills are learnt at certain ages and developmental milestones help your GP make sure your child is developing at a normal rate. These milestones are only there as a rough estimate as every child is an individual and will ...

This is a preview of the whole essay

Here's what a teacher thought of this essay

A fairly good essay that discusses developments in infancy and some in childhood only. It would appear unfinished in relation to the title. The writer has included some of the relevant milestones but focuses on physical to a far greater extent. This is quite common in this form of essay and it could be enhanced by discussing the other PIES in the same detail. ***