Should Brazil be allowed entry into the exclusive G8 club?

Authors Avatar by charmainegandhi (student)

Should Brazil be allowed entry into the exclusive G8 club?

The G8 is a group of eight influential and developed countries consisting of the United Kingdom, France, United States of America, Italy, Germany, Russia, Japan and Canada who meet annually for the ‘G8 summit’, in which Heads of State and Government of member countries meet to discuss and attempt to reconcile global issues.  Although the G8 is best known for its annual summits, it works throughout the year to tackle important contemporary topics such as the economy, trading between countries and climate change.  The G8 discusses and creates global policies.

Unlike South Africa, India and Mexico, Brazil has an average to high life expectancy at birth. High life expectancy at birth is an indicator of a developed country because it shows the country can offer a good quality of life, for example people living in that country have access to medical care and good food and water. People have a low life expectancy at birth in poor countries because they don’t have access to good food and water and medical care. Russia, who is already part of the G8 group, has a lower life expectancy at birth than Brazil. India, South Africa and Mexico are other contenders for the G8 place, and since their life expectancy at birth is so low, they are not of the quality the rest of the G8 has upheld.

Join now!

Compared to all of the other countries in the G8, Brazil has higher HDI rank, meaning that the quality of life is not as good as the others in the G8. This being said, it has a lower or equal rank than the rest of the countries competing for this place in the G8, meaning that it is of the quality the G8 is looking to include from this year on.

Brazil, like other rich nations in the G8, has a low TFR (birth per woman). A low TFR are an indicator of a developed county because they show that ...

This is a preview of the whole essay