The Treaty of Versailles

Authors Avatar

The Treaty of Versailles

The Treaty of Versailles was signed on June 28th, 1919 at the Palace of Versailles in France. It was the peace treaty that brought WWI to a decisive end. Delegates from 27 nations gathered to bring about a compromise. The most powerful delegates of the treaty were President Woodrow Wilson of the U.S.; Prime Minister Georges Clemenceau of France; Prime Minister David Lloyd George of Great Britain, and Vittorio Orlando of Italy.  They were the politicians known as the “big four” who made most of the decisions in the treaty.

The treaty consisted of 440 articles with the first 26 articles dealing with the formation of the League of Nations. The purpose of the League of Nations was to ensure international prosperity and the settling of disputes to prevent warfare. Members of the League of Nations were required to meet at least once a year to discuss major political issues. Because Germany was regarded as the initiator of WWI, they were forced to take the blame; and the rest of the 414 articles focused mainly on stripping Germany of its power.

Join now!

The countries of Great Britain and France were particularly intent on giving Germany a harsh sentence because of the damages they had suffered from the war. Woodrow Wilson of America however, had a less malicious sentence and initially devised a 14-point plan that he believed would bring peace to Europe. It involved countries reducing their armed forces, and the independence of nations. However the treaty turned out to be pretty different from Wilson’s 14-point plan.

The treaty started off by restricting Germany’s army to only 100,000 men with no conscriptions. They were not allowed the manufacture of major weaponry, such ...

This is a preview of the whole essay