Analysis the Sutra on the Eight Realizations of the Great Beings.

Authors Avatar

                 Analysis the Sutra on the Eight Realizations of the Great Beings

Introduction: a monk whose name was An Shin Kao translated the Sutra on the Eight Realization of the

Great Beings from Sanskrit during the later Han Dynasty in China. An Shin Kao was a prince when he

was young, however, he became a monk after his father died. Moreover, An Shin Kao learned the

knowledge of sutras well; he translated many famous Buddhist Sutras. Thus, An Shin Kao could represent

to be a translating monk for the Buddhist Sutra in the earlier period of Buddhism in China. The word of

great beings means that people are liberated from birth and death and help everyone in the world

with Great Vow. In other words, Great Beings is similar to Bodhisattvas. The purpose of these eight

realizations is for Buddha, Bodhisattvas and Great Beings who have followed and practiced diligently

the way of compassion and understanding.  There are over three hundred words in the sutra, but the value

is important. Therefore, learners can get the main idea of the sutra easily because of clear clauses.

Eight Realization of the Great Beings

The view of World-1.All political regimes are subject to fall.

                 2.The world is impermanent.

                 3.All things composed of the four elements are empty.

The view of Life-1. More desire is the root of samsara.

                2. To feel fulfilled is the root of practicing the way.

                3. To practice diligently is the root of destroying Mara.

                4. Wisdom is the root of transforming ignorance.

                5. To practice generosity is the root of educating human beings.

                6. To hold precepts is the root of controlling desires.

Conclusion-    Great Vow is the root of helping everyone.

The First Realization

  1. Impermanence-The world-To be in the process of change-constantly being born and constantly       dying.
  2. Suffering-The four elements-To be empty of self without sovereignty.
  3. Selflessness-The five skandhas-The mind is the source of all confusion.
  4. Impurity-The mind and the body-The body is the forest of all impure action.

     The term world combines with time and space. The time includes past, present, and future. Space

means ten directions-East, West, South, North, Up and Down. In other words, the world means the

universe. According to the Diamond Sutra, “All phenomena are like a dream, an illusion, a bubble and a

shadow, like dew and lightning. Thus should you meditate upon them." The meaning shows that the universe,

bodies and minds are changing from moment to moment. Everything passes through a period of birth,

maturity, transformation, and destruction. This is called impermanence. There is a Chinese proverb to prove

the impermanent condition, “ Seas change into mulberry fields and mulberry fields in seas.” Thus,

everything in the world is not eternal. So the impermanence is the truth of the world. In this way, people are

not supposed to be obsessed by things of this world.

       The meaning of the four elements includes earth, air, water, and fire. First, the four elements, which

Join now!

are from the world to small material, are combined with the four elements. It goes without saying that

people’s bodies are also composed of the four elements. In explaining why people’s bodies contain suffering,

a Chinese philosopher once said, “My big problem is having my own body.” In fact, people’s

bodies gather the all of suffering of nature. There are many suffering in people’s minds, such as greed, hatred

and desire. Similarly, people’s bodies also suffer from the cycle of birth and death. Nothing is permanent in a

long ...

This is a preview of the whole essay