• Join over 1.2 million students every month
  • Accelerate your learning by 29%
  • Unlimited access from just £6.99 per month
Page
  1. 1
    1
  2. 2
    2
  3. 3
    3
  4. 4
    4
  5. 5
    5
  6. 6
    6
  7. 7
    7
  8. 8
    8
  9. 9
    9
  10. 10
    10
  11. 11
    11
  12. 12
    12

The various portrayals of heroines in Jane Austen's novels as well as investigate, who is a heroine and what makes a heroine.

Extracts from this document...

Introduction

The various portrayals of heroines in Jane Austen's novels as well as investigate, who is a heroine and what makes a heroine. The Oxford English Dictionary defines a heroine as: 'A woman distinguished by exalted courage, fortitude, or noble achievements.' The novels of the 1790's presented two types of heroine, the heroine who is fallible and learns, and the heroine who is Christian and exemplary. These were the standard heroine types of the reactionary novels of the 1790's. But there are many other traits and qualities which can also be possessed by a woman to be described as a heroine. For example it is the fate of the romantic heroine to suffer and endure. There are many stereotypical heroines perhaps the most famous being Cinderella. This is a very good example, as she embodies all that is expected of a typical heroine- she is beautiful, morally right and kind and suffers at the hands of others. However other authors of the period present typical heroines as passive, weak and meek. Fanny Burney's Cecilia (1782) sees the character of Cecilia never straying from the standards of female obedience and submission. Austen wanted to break with the Burney tradition of vulnerable, but noble-minded heroines. Radical novelists of the eighties and nineties like Mary Hays and Mary Wollstonecraft for the most part produced heroines like Emma Courtney (1796) or Maria (1798). Rebellious and often outspoken, but so seriously concerned with their confrontation with society that challenges to pettier forms of tyranny are out of the question.' (Mary Waldron) Austen began writing fiction as 'an act of protest against the unmeaning gibberish expressed in popular sentimental novels'1 She wrote against the preposterous heroines of Love and Friendship (1790). And this is a clear indication that her heroines are not going to be straight forward representations. Elizabeth Bennet is the charming witty heroine of Pride and Prejudice. To many she is a typical conventional heroine showing courage, strength as well as exuberance and energy. ...read more.

Middle

Catherine similarly on her introduction into the world is not like Emmeline the conventional heroine at the time who knows instinctively the right moves to make. When Henry Tilney parodies the fashionable preoccupations of the average novel-heroine, she reacts in amused disbelief because so far she thinks of such behaviour as occurring only between the covers of a book (26-27). Compared to Jane Austen's later heroines Catherine Morland is somewhat Proffessor Mudrick remarks 'too simple and too slight, too narrowly a symbol of the author's rejection of romantic nonsense to assert the claim of personal feeling and value beyond mere function'6. Howells writes of her 'Catherine Morland is a goose, but a very engaging goose..and in spite of her romantic folly she has so much good heart that it serves her in place of good sense'7. It seems to me that both these critics rather miss the point about Catherine, and her inadequacies as a heroine. Her inadequacies are there because Jane Austen uses her to establish her as a gooselike parody of the sentimental-gothic heroine. She can be seen to be a type of caricature of the conventional heroine. In spite of this however Catherine still has qualities associated with the heroine. For example Catherine has physical energy and exuburance seen with her walks with the Tilneys and the energy she displays throughout the novel corresponds with Jane Austen's heroines such as Elizabeth and Emma. Catherine is Jane Austen's most innocent heroine, she has none of the certainty of Elizabeth, none of the gentler perception of Anne Elliot, none of the righteous of Fanny Price. She is closer in nature to Harriet Smith of the novel Emma. Critic Norman Sherry thinks the character of Miss Tilney has all the virtues of taste, manners, judgement and correct behaviour. She is a little too good too be true, and ironically in this way approximates most closely to the fictionally heroine. ...read more.

Conclusion

Jane Austen's characters are instruments of a profound vision, she laughs at man and examines humanity closely. Jane Austen's heroines are not idealised creatures, they are credible human beings. Thomas Baginaton Macaulay 1843 wrote 'she has given us a multitude of characters, all in a certain sense common-place, all such as we meet every day'13. The heroines are truly loveable flesh and blood young women. Emma and Elizabeth can in fact 'be seen as the prototypes of a distinguished line of heroines who are active shaping forces in their fictional worlds rather than passive victims in the tradition of Samuel Richardson's Pamela and Clarissa'14. Jane Austen's heroine it could therefore be said is within our 'physical space whereas for example Richardson's is still suspended on the wall of romance'15. Her portray of her different heroines is like a discussion and investigation into the different natures of women. However it can be said that Jane Austen is happiest and her heroines are more ideal and popular when she deals with the flawed but vivacious character like Emma and Elizabeth. The good character such as Fanny and Elinor are in a secondary position. But to many readers however the character which epitomises perfectly the idea of a heroine is Elizabeth. Elizabeth' s sense and conduct are of a superior order to those of the common heroines of novels. From her independence of character which is kept within the proper limits of decorum and her well- times sprit. Elizabeth is also rewarded with the most glorious match in all of Jane Austen's novels, and the question can therefore be asked is this the best reward for Jane Austen's most radiant and best heroine? 1 Donald D. Stone 2 Bradbrook 3 Memoir of Jane Austen, ed. R. W. Chapman, p157 4 Bardbrook 5 Marilyn Butler 6 Andrew Wright 7 Andrew Wright 8 Donald Stone 9 Juliet Mcmaster 10 John Bailey, Introduction to Jane Austen (London, 1931) 94 11 Gille 12 Jane Austen; Northanger Abbey an Persuasion B.C Southam 13 Reference on Judith O'Neill 14 Elizabeth Jean Sabiston 15 Gillie ...read more.

The above preview is unformatted text

This student written piece of work is one of many that can be found in our AS and A Level Jane Austen section.

Found what you're looking for?

  • Start learning 29% faster today
  • 150,000+ documents available
  • Just £6.99 a month

Not the one? Search for your essay title...
  • Join over 1.2 million students every month
  • Accelerate your learning by 29%
  • Unlimited access from just £6.99 per month

See related essaysSee related essays

Related AS and A Level Jane Austen essays

  1. Marked by a teacher

    Is it possible to see Elizabeth Bennet as a feminist heroine?

    3 star(s)

    Her action contradicts entirely the principles set out in the conduct books, and the reaction she receives reinforces the unusualness of our heroine's honesty. Charlotte, however, seems to conform with society's expectations of a young lady, and accepts as though she is presented with no happy alternative, 'convinced that my

  2. Do you believe that Austen's final title; Pride and Prejudice is a more appropriate ...

    I believe here she is condemning pride as well as prejudice, as a very poor characteristic. In spite of this, what may redeem her characters is the fact that both Darcy and Elizabeth are able to discuss their failings. When Lizzie is at Netherfield looking after Jane not only are

  1. How does Jane Austen present the themes of love and marriage in the novel ...

    as she does not know which family she belongs to, preventing her from a higher place in status; social status being an important consideration when concerning marriage. In chapter four Emma and Harriet become quite good friends. Emma realises that one of the Martins has a romantic interest in Harriet.

  2. Compare and Contrast how Jane Austen Represents Social Class In Emma and Pride and ...

    decorum, prudence, nay, interest forbid it' (56,336), to lady Catherine's outburst, Elizabeth retaliates 'in marrying your nephew, I should not consider myself as quitting that sphere. He is a gentleman; I am a gentleman's daughter; so far we are equal.'

  1. Discuss the representations of class within "Emma".

    the other variables in marriage, which can be contrasted through Emma's view towards marriage. Within the class system, the class system existed to 'determine both the community's membership and how it works in the lives of its members' (Masterplots, Fourth Edition; November 2010), creating inequalities between different members which can be seen in their differing opinions towards marriage.

  2. Is Northanger Abbey truly a Gothic Romance?

    This is thus a parody of a typical gothic heroine - true gothic heroines actually experience the horrors which Catherine dreams of. There is some evidence however, to suggest that Catherine does perhaps fit the conventions of a typical gothic heroine.

  1. Jane Austen said of Emma 'she is a character who no-one but myself will ...

    People in Austen's society, when reading this book, would disapprove of Emma when she talks about her feelings towards marriage. At this point, us the audience can now see Emma at a different perspective, we now see how selfish she is capable of being when she declares that she will marry Mr.

  2. Katherine Mansfield's Presentation of Happiness 'Bliss' and 'The Little Governess' are two short stories ...

    Katherine Mansfield promotes this sense of oppressed sexual feelings by describing fruit with 'smooth' skin and 'stained pink'; which gives a sense of erotic colours and enriched senses. Later she thinks she is 'getting hysterical' which hints at Freudian ideas of 'sexual oppression', which were popular at the time.

  • Over 160,000 pieces
    of student written work
  • Annotated by
    experienced teachers
  • Ideas and feedback to
    improve your own work