• Join over 1.2 million students every month
  • Accelerate your learning by 29%
  • Unlimited access from just £6.99 per month

Explain how the Sermon at Sarnath contains the key teaching of Buddhism.

Extracts from this document...


Explain how the Sermon at Sarnath contains the key teaching of Buddhism. The Buddha's first sermon is imperative as it outlines the major teachings of Buddhism; he explains what he has discovered in terms of the four truths. His sermon began by explaining to the ascetics that he has found through his personal experiences that both a life of pleasure seeking and of denial of pleasure was harmful and furthermore was enlightened to see a new way of life, which was that of moderation, the middle path. This discovery enabled him to see clearly the four truths. The middle path is the concept which all Buddhist must both learn bust also become intuitive, it is the concept of avoiding extremes, this is outlined in the sermon " To indulgence of pleasure in the objects of sensual desire... and there is devotion of self torment to discover nibbana... one avoids both extremes." This belief is fundamental to Buddhism as it provides a basis of all moral and ethical decisions. The first Nobel truth is a statement that there is something fundamentally wrong with how humans see life and existence. ...read more.


The concept of ones ego prevents humans from breaking down the chronic limitations and thus resulting in further suffering. As unenlightened or ignorant humans we desire senses, experiences, life and permanence and as a result this causes a chain reaction of our desires and cravings leading to the concept of re-incarnation (rebecoming.) the whole cycle of rebecoming is called samsara. "Over and over, he tries and he struggles: over and over, the ignorant goes to the womb, over and over, he's born and he dies: over and over, he is borne to his grave. But one who has wisdom as wide as the earth is not born over and over, for he has gained the path of not becoming over again."2 This illustrates the samsara cycle in this cycle until we get away from desire we will be forever ignorant and due to it will simply continue but once we become "awakened" we will be able to break this cycle leading to Nibbana. Samsara is the opposite to nirvana, it is a name for existence seen as bondage to a set of ongoing rebirths caused by karma, and it is not until one is able to detach ourselves from the existing will one be able to reach nirvana. ...read more.


Wisdom is the acceptance and the knowledge of all Buddha's teachings and key Buddhist beliefs it also shows that one must not only learn it but theses teachings must become intuitive to ones existence. Conduct refers to moral behaviour. The basic moral behaviour is in the 5 precepts, which are, avoided killing, stealing, false speech, sexual misconduct and intoxicants. This is the basic ethical teaching for Buddhist and basically it is to act out of compassion for all sentient beings. The meditation component is used to achieve the elimination of ignorance and to help the beliefs penetrate as deep as possible into the consciousness both intellectually and intuitively. The upheaval of all elements of the eightfold path will result in the cessation of suffering and furthermore the achievement of enlighten. The sermon is imperative to the understanding of Buddhism as it accurately outlines the principle beliefs, which underline Buddhism. These are ideas such as the middle path, impermanent, Dukka, cessation of suffering, samsara, karma, the eightfold path and nirvana. The upheavals of these beliefs as explained through the sermon will lead to an awakened state and sub sequentially the elimination of suffering thus nirvana. 1 Hagan, S. 1989. Buddhism Plain and Simple, Broadway 2 Student worksheet Page 55 (White Sacred Texts and Writings) 3 Living Religion Third Edition, Pearson Education, 2005 ...read more.

The above preview is unformatted text

This student written piece of work is one of many that can be found in our GCSE Buddhism section.

Found what you're looking for?

  • Start learning 29% faster today
  • 150,000+ documents available
  • Just £6.99 a month

Not the one? Search for your essay title...
  • Join over 1.2 million students every month
  • Accelerate your learning by 29%
  • Unlimited access from just £6.99 per month

See related essaysSee related essays

Related GCSE Buddhism essays

  1. Buddhism - Eightfold Path. Training the mind properly is more important than acting ...

    they have done during their life. They believe that their life force will be reincarnated to a higher life if they do good actions, and a lower life if they do bad actions. This cycle is called the samsara and when they escape this cycle it is called nirvana.

  2. Analysis the Sutra on the Eight Realizations of the Great Beings.

    For example, the flame forever attracts the flying moth, and fish in the water usually is caught by the fishhook because of greed. People usually have wrong notion that when they fulfill their desire, they have better and happy lives.

  1. What are the main differences between Sikhism and Buddhism?

    Dasam Granth - writings of the Tenth Guru * Janam Sakhis - The life stories of Sikh Gurus * Hukamnamas - the letters written by the Sikh Gurus in their lifetime * Varan Bhai Gurdaas - Hymns composed by Bhai Gurdaas (I and II )

  2. The sacred book of Buddhism is called the Tipitaka.

    The Places Buddhists might go on Pilgrimage: 1. Buddha's Birth Place - Garden of Lumbini (Nepal) The Garden of Lumbini. One of the four sacred sites of Buddhism (Sarnath, Bodh-gaya, Kushinagara), which is believed to be the place of birth of the Shakyamuni Buddha. Lumbini was near the capital of the Shakya kingdom, Kapilavastu, and is in the territory of present-day Nepal.

  1. Discuss in as much the doctrine of Anicca is essential to the religion of ...

    Buddhism says people should contemplate death and impermanence as a chance to value their human rebirths, and to understand the nature of samsara." (Moral Issues in Six Religions). Furthermore, whilst discussing the doctrine of Anicca and if it is essential to the religion of Buddhism in understanding the human condition

  2. Select and explain the religious rituals which might be performed when a Buddhist visits ...

    The last three aspects of the Eightfold path deal with mental training. They encourage the Buddhist to make themselves more aware of what is happening around them. The sixth aspect of the eightfold path is right effort, Buddhists are taught to avoid all negative and evil thoughts by performing meditation.

  1. Buddist ethics - The war on Iraq.

    However, if mercy killing is the correct method to be practised on pets and other animals, then why are people so reluctant to do the same to their beloved ones? This act may be called euthanasia. Some people may say that the sight of relieving someone of pain may be

  2. Overview of Buddhism.

    Right effort is detailed in four types of endeavors that rank in ascending order of perfection: 1. to prevent the arising of unarisen unwholesome states, 2. to abandon unwholesome states that have already arisen, 3. to arouse wholesome states that have not yet arisen, and 4.

  • Over 160,000 pieces
    of student written work
  • Annotated by
    experienced teachers
  • Ideas and feedback to
    improve your own work