• Join over 1.2 million students every month
  • Accelerate your learning by 29%
  • Unlimited access from just £6.99 per month

The sacraments of Holy Communion.

Extracts from this document...


Andrew Coleman 10K Thursday, 23 January 2003 This essay is answering the statement that" The sacraments of Holy Communion forms part of the worship for most Christians". In most Christian denominations, which mean sectors of a religion, believe that out of all of the sacraments the most important is "holy communion". A sacrament is "the visible form of an invisible grace" as said by a Christian scholar who lived between 354 and 430 Common Era. In total there are seven basic sacraments which are, The Eucharist, which is another word for Holy Communion. Baptism is another sacrament and this is the name given to the ceremony in which a child or adult (depending on the denominations) is cleansed of there sins, to begin a new life with the holy family and God. Confirmation is also another type of sacrament but unlike baptism where you are brought into the family you are now "confirmed" a born again Christian and you believe in God much more. Penances is an additional sacrament and this is when a "confirmed" Christian goes to confess there sins and there wrong doings to ask for forgiveness from god but different denominations practice this, such as some protestant dominations believe that if you feel bad about your actions you do not needs god's word for forgiveness. ...read more.


In a free church you can be any age to take part but you must be baptised to be involved. In the Roman Catholic ceremony, they believe in transubstantion, which is the belief that once the bread and wine has been blessed it is now the body and blood of Christ and that Jesus is hosting the bread. However, this is only once it has been blessed, this is also backed up by them locking it up in a wooden chest after every service to show that Jesus is still there spiritually and to show people in a physical way, they leave a light on in the church to show Jesus is there. In the Anglican Church they believe in consubstantion, this is when after the bread, and wine has been blessed that it is now part of Jesus' spirit but only while taking Holy Liturgy. These are all enactments of Christ's death but not all denominations believe in this. Thus is seen in the protestant worship where it is done as a reminder of Jesus' death, these are such religions as the Church of England but there are also some dominations like Quakers and The Salvation Army who do not do anything to remember Jesus' death on the cross. ...read more.


In the Baptist domination the wine is given out in little cups and this is different to the Roman Catholic domination where the wine is given in a goblet. The wine that is given to the conjuration is not just wine it is also a mixture of water as well and this has been done because when they took Jesus off the cross they found his wounds to be bleeding a clear liquid as well and they fought his blood had holy water in it to the whole a time. At the end of this service the conjuration are told and blessed by the vicar to go fourth and live the life of god and to spread the word of god and are in a way blessed. In conclusion, I think that Christians interpret the Last Supper today as a celebration of mass. The body of Christ (Eucharist) is supposed to be the most important part of a Christian's life. Without it, the Christian community would not have enough to remember Jesus. This is because we would only hear gospel readings about Jesus and we would only read about his miracles instead of experiencing the miracle of transformation between the bread into the body of Christ. ...read more.

The above preview is unformatted text

This student written piece of work is one of many that can be found in our GCSE Places of Worship section.

Found what you're looking for?

  • Start learning 29% faster today
  • 150,000+ documents available
  • Just £6.99 a month

Not the one? Search for your essay title...
  • Join over 1.2 million students every month
  • Accelerate your learning by 29%
  • Unlimited access from just £6.99 per month

See related essaysSee related essays

Related GCSE Places of Worship essays

  1. The sacrament of Holy Communion forms part of worship for most Christians - Explain ...

    Low Churches do not follow liturgical patterns and are not as decorated as High Churches e.g. the Society of Friends meet in Meeting Houses. In an Orthodox Church, Holy Community or Divine Liturgy is celebrated in the following ways every Sunday plus during the week as well: First of all is the Liturgy of the Word.

  2. Examine how Keane and Duffy in Season of Blood and War Photographer communicate the ...

    He repeats this phrase again to emphasise his point: "It is fucking unbelievable. Can you imagine what these poor bastards went through?" It may be considered swearing, but "poor bastard" is the only real expressive way of saying it. As it is such a severe incident, it is considered acceptable


    and vestry's on either side of the ministers room to leave garments, books. In a Methodist church which again is similar to the Orthodox and Baptist Churches contains and organ to be played at the beginning and end of services, a pulpit where the priest will preach and lead services

  2. Examine and comment on the attitudes of Roman Catholic and Anglican churches to Homosexuality.

    Robinson being appointed Bishop of New Hampshire, but this appointment was done in the full knowledge that he was openly gay and in a relationship with another man. Both of these shocking and controversial moves by the church caused a crisis meeting to be held between the worldwide Anglican Arch Bishops.

  1. Places and Forms Of Worship

    doing this, in peace with no distractions, is the best way to get closer to God.

  2. Knowledge and Understanding of belief and practise The Sacrament of Holy Communion Forms Part ...

    Christians differ in their views of Holy Communion. All agree that it is the sign of the new covenant (contract or promise) between God and "his" followers. The old covenant between God and Israel was created when God freed the Hebrews from slavery in Egypt. They accepted God as their ruler in return for obeying his laws and becoming a people specially dedicated to him.

  1. Describe and explain the way in which Christians celebrate Holy Communion'

    This is called Penitential Rite. Following that, the priest who is central in the celebrations, conducts the Word of God or the ministry of the word, reading prayers, passages and hymns from the Bible. This done from the altar where the bread and the wine are placed.

  2. A study of the attitudes of the Roman Catholic, Methodist and Anglican churches to ...

    God is oneness and no one is excluded. Anytime you are showing compassion to another human, you are living in accordance with God's word. Gay or straight it doesn't matter. "Christ never mentions homosexuality in the Bible," Wilkinson reminds. "Not once. Why not? Because it doesn't matter." He also wonders why dozens of other laws set down by

  • Over 160,000 pieces
    of student written work
  • Annotated by
    experienced teachers
  • Ideas and feedback to
    improve your own work