Rachel Sloan

H.N.C Social Science

E.U Institutions

Outcome 1 & 2 (integrated assessment)

“Describe the principle EU institutions and analyse the community decision making process across the principle EU institutions.”

The European Union  is an   consisting of 25   from around the , its aim is to work together to improve the life of their citizens. The name European Union was established by the treaty on European union in 1992 (the maastricht treaty). However many of the unions aspects were present before the treaty in 1992 and there is documented evidence to suggest predecessor relationships dating back to 1951.

        Today the union has a common single market consisting of a customs union, a common agricultural policy, a common trade policy, a commons fisheries policy and a commons foreign and security policy. The most important E.U Institutions are said to be the council of the European Union, the European commission, the European court of justice and the European Parliament.

There are 3 main decision- making institutions within the European Union, Parliament, Council and the European commission. These 3 institutions are commonly spoke about as the “institutional triangle” in which policies and produced and applied throughout the E.U.

        The European Parliament was founded back in the 1950’s and was built apon a number of treaties and since 1979 its members have been elected by the very people they represent, the European citizens. These elections are held every 5 years and any registered E.U citizen is entitled to vote. As Parliament is elected democratically any legislation that is passed is therefore seen as representative of the people. The parliament supervises the other institutions within the E.U, the commission in particular. Parliament has the right to deny and reject any proposals, they also hold the “power of the purse”. This power is shared with the Council and between the two allows them to influence the budget spending.

        One of the most widely known acts of the Parliament is to pass and deny legislation. This has strong links to the European Union as both institutions contribute to this role. There are 3 main procedures that are used during the legislation process, consultation, assent and co-decision. The consultation procedure involves ideas being initially proposed to the parliament. Parliament at this stage can then choose to approve the proposal, ask for amendments to be made or the can choose to reject it in its entirety. Assent procedure follows the same flow however within this procedure the parliament only have a black and white choice, acceptance or denial. For legislation to pass it must be of an absolute majority of the vote in order to be accepted. Co- decision is the procedure that is now used in most of the E.U’s law making. In this procedure parliament and the union share an equal amount of legislative power and if they cannot agree then the piece of legislation causing quarrels will be passed onto a conciliation committee. Conciliation committee’s are built up of an equal amount of members from the council and the parliament. Once the committee is in an agreement the legislation and decision is sent back to parliament and council in order for it to be adopted into the E.U law.

Join now!

        The council of the European union as mentioned previously holds half of the responsibility within the law-making process. As with the Parliament the Council was also founded on the founding treaties. Council meetings are attended by one minister from each National Government within the European Union. The minister who attends is dependant on which subject mater is at hand, for example if it was an environmental issue then it would be the environment minister. This gathering would then be known as the environmental council, there are 9 councils altogether, there is also the general affairs and external relationships, economic and ...

This is a preview of the whole essay